Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Swimming Instructor Knows Magic

Oh Snap! Check this shit out! Armageddon commeth our way!

I attempted to conquer my greatest fear EVER: Water. The poor innocent H2O (look at me, so chemist of me, writing it as a chemical formula…).

For the nth time, I have signed up for the swimming classes. Never before I actually even got as far as going into the pool, this time, however, was different.

I chatted up the cute instructor and then he ruined it for me by telling me to get into the water. When I found out it was deeper than a kiddy pool (4'6", whereas I am only 5'2"), I chickened out, said my goodbyes, and announced I am giving up.
"You will give up, just like that? Without trying?" He looked up at me.
"Just like that." I say slowly walking away.
"You should try at least one class. Only then you can give up." He says. I glance at the pool, still deep, still threatening. "For me?"
Well, that hit the spot. He helped me down. The he kept repeating my name, me this and me that, he would put me on the spot, "Look at how [my name] is doing it! Take her as an example!"

At some point he thought I was ready to float by myself in the middle of the pool. I wasn't. He promised to support my stomach. I did well for a second… then I panicked…. And to save myself from drowning….


I grabbed whatever I could find near me…

Even if it was his crotch…
And his thigh…

Then as the water was getting all into my lungs….

I aimed at his shorts….


And pulled.


At the end, he got me to float and glide and do kicks all on my own. He made me less afraid of water.
At the end, he asked me if I will show up the following week. I nodded and he smiled. I think there is hope for me.


"See, I succeeded at getting into the pool! If I can do that, what else can I do?! What awaits me next?! Sky diving? Bungee jumping?!?!...."
"Sleeping with your instructor." Announces my co-worker.

11:51 p.m. - September 28, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter