Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Highlights and lowlights of my week

1 -> Miscommunication in the scientific society in the government. Them gov�nt scientists keep on calling my boss asking when will I be sent over there and lend them my genius. My boss kept calling them when they want me there. They kept calling the higher uppers. The higher uppers kept calling them. And at the end, no one knew any more than in the beginning. Finally, today they called and said it�s too late to start this summer (clearances and all), so I�m shipped off in the Fall. I�m pretty sure in the Fall they�ll decide for the Winter. In the Winter, they�ll figure out the Spring is the way to go� by then I�ll be a Dr. Ph.D, and I�ll make the decisions.

2 -> You gain some, you lose some, gain some more, and get a freebie. A) Back when I was all that, I cruised around in a BMW. I worked hard for it, and enjoyed every penny and drop of sweat I spent on it. Then, some semi-trailer truck driving moron smooshed my car to pieces in a freak accident where the freak part was that I survived. Sadly, my sweet ride didn�t. That was couple years ago and since then I have not gotten behind the wheel. I still fear cars driving next to me. Each trailer truck I see, I grab onto the door handle as if my life depended on it. But now, NOW is my moment where I get back on the horse! Start off small, you know, a pony. So my old Jetta is being shipped over here this weekend. I am not promising that it will ever leave the parking lot, but� baby steps, baby steps.
B) I had a chop-shop bicycle. Some referred to it as �garbage bike�. Most would be right. I liked it though. How many people do you know that had an honest to goodness chop-shop bike??? Just me. So I did some moderate mountain biking the other day, and well� the garbage bike ended up next to the trash couple hours later. The gears crapped out. The tires tore. I could go on. I was sad. Within minutes of me leaving it next to the trash, someone came by and took it. One person�s trash is the other person�s treasure. Uhm, not in this case. Not in this case.
C) My brother got a new mountain bike, cost him a grand. I asked for the same one, but instead he decided to give me the previous bike he owned� he just paid 800 bucks for it. Hey, I�ll take it. It�s $800 I can put towards a camera lense or something�
D) I saw my old student today. She decided to replace her road bike with a new one. So I offered to take the brightly colored bike with each chain link of the chain colored different colors off her hands. For free. Deal was made. Another bike off the streets and into my hands. Sometimes I am glad I grade harshly.

3 -> People are replaceable. They are. No need to get into the whole moral and philosophical discussion of this fact. People are like food. They�re delicious in their nature. They vary geographically and culturally and even within the same food group, they can be made poisonous or just deliciously good. You eat it and enjoy it. Sometimes you become addicted to the food. Sometimes you keep it around for so long that mold grows on it or the food simply spoils; so you throw it away. Replace it, maybe, with something similar or decide to try a different thing. I don�t like grocery shopping, and I am notorious for doing so only once every couple months. My fridge is perpetually hungry. But this is not about food, so convert any food metaphors into humans. So, I like Stan but I am tired of him. Tired of his � just whatever the hell he thinks he�s doing. I shall not abandon my best friend duties to him. I shall be the best friend he ever had because I care for him like no other, but he just will not get the additional benefits of me being his girl. And I came to this conclusion today when this awesomely beautiful man sat next to me and refused to shut up. We bonded over soccer.

4 -> Soccer is fabulous. Why? Because the German team graces it with it�s unmatched skills. Because I look good sporting my German jackets, even though I am not German (and frankly my people are not happy I am supporting that team). Because it introduced me to this new fella who was just totally awesome and made me forget about Stan�s periods. And because it exposes posers: people who bitched about soccer being stupid, suddenly have World Cup parties; people who bitched how awful of a sport it is with it�s ridiculous allowance for ties/draws, suddenly whip out their soccer balls (obviously brand new) and play just about EVERYwhere. It�s obnoxious. I don�t care if you hate the sport, shit, I find baseball boring (mostly because I do not understand it, and if I don�t understand it, I find it boring), but during the World Series you don�t see me whipping out my baseball bat or the glove (mostly because I do not own them).

Okay, digest that people, I�m going to sleep. Goodnight.

1:45 a.m. - June 15, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter