Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stan Came Back and I Need Some Sleep

�Where�s Stan?�
�I ain�t his keeper.� I shrug my shoulders.
�You�re as close to being his keeper as one can get. You know the most about him.� He stands there gloating.
I throw paperwork in the air. �I give up. Give me my PhD now.�

***
I lie my face down on the desk.
�Wake up sleepy head! We�re going to lunch!� The boss just won�t leave me alone.
I have sleep marks on my face.

We walk down the street and I am missing Stan. When is he coming back?? The boss pays for my sandwich. Great. I just love when he does that.
Stan texts me that he is back and feels loved by the decorations, the origami, and haikus I have left him during his absence. These weren�t meant to show the love, they meant to be obnoxious. I failed, obviously.
All happy inside I could not wait until I got to the office. I ran up and was ready to jump on him to hug him (romantic movie style) and he even half-got up from his chair to accept my jump. But the Boss wanted to greet him too. Stan stopped in mid-smile and mid-seat/stand up position. I stopped in mid-air.
�Hi.� Hi. Hi�s were exchanged. He started talking to Stan. And I was just getting anxious. The moment boss left, I jumped at Stan. �Yes, yes, I am sweaty and all, but I need to hug the shit out of you.�
He points at his shirt, �Yea, I am dirty and unshaven, and I have not changed my clothes in three days.� I hugged the hell out of the dirty mountain man. His skinny but oh so muscular frame and his five day beard were just� so disabling.
�So, I did not want to come back to this place. Just wanted to stay there.�
I shrugged, �yea, I have not missed you either. You should�ve stayed there.�
�I didn�t say I didn�t miss you.�
Silence. He kept smiling at me in his lovey smile.
�Actually, I just got back [drove couple thousand miles] and I didn�t even stop home. This is the first place I came to.�
Yes, you missed me. Let me bask in this.

***
�Wakey wakey! �
Ah the boss again. I raise my head, look at him, and then I drop my head back on the desk.
�Where�s Stan?�
I bang the desk with my fist. �He�s gone. He gave up. He went back to the mountains to live with the mountain goats. You�re stuck with me now.�
�Go back to sleep.� He says and I shrug my shoulders. �Or better yet, go away. Go home. Go on vacation.�
I raise my head, �Are you trying to get rid of me?�
He laughs and walks away.

***
I started reading Infinite Jest. I am only 15 pages into it and I cannot tell if I am reading a book by a literary genius or if it�s hitting so close home that I can actually relate to its ridiculousness.

2:10 a.m. - July 13, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter