Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I am that jerk, that jerk that wears sunglasses inside. My head is throbbing. I rub my eyes from underneath my newly purchased RayBans.

I open my eyes and survey my surroundings. Nothing has changed from the last five minutes my eyes have opened, and five minutes before that. I was still wearing my beloved plaid shirt and my beloved skinny jeans and soaked wet Converse. My hair was still a pure blond mess and it smelled heavenly. Oh dear, how beautifully it smelled. And he was still cutting the white powder on the flat surface of some book. I closed my eyes. How did I get here?

Living so close to the border is a blessing. I get to escape to a �different� country every weekend if I so please. And I do so. This time I had nothing better to do, so I rented a car and I drove. I drove by to the closest touristy spot, and walked around. I knew the streets. I knew the signs. I was bored and tired. And depressed. Depressed because I had nothing to be excited about. I spent hours crying over just anything that came to my mind. They call it clinical depression and they apologize that they cannot treat it. My potentially lethal allergy to medications prevents them from prescribing me anti-depressants. And my brain disorder actually precedes any other problems (like depression), and I am already on medication (although not quite for my disorder and for babies, but the best they could do). Usually I talk. A lot. To forget about the fact I can�t breathe, the fact my heart is always in my throat, the fact I want to throw up from pain and sadness. Usually, I indulge in photography, because only when you�re sad can you see the true beauty. Usually, I bike and drive and play with my pets and read and just occupy myself to the point where I don�t have time to sit still and ponder about new non-existent reasons to cry.

So I walked and walked and some shady looking scumbags invited me for some party. When you�re truly depressed, you feel no fear, because everything already is as bad as it can be, so nothing horrible that can happen will ever truly surprise you, it�s expected. So I joined them at their �party� in their scumbag motel.

I rub my eyes again. I am bored. This does not please me.
�Lets do a line,� he orders. I get excited for a second when I imagine in my head the chemical formulas and how this shit is synthesized (I cannot turn this off), but once I figure it all out, I get bored again.

The rest of the party joins, I do not move. They look at me and wait for me to come up. I just rub my temples.
�Com�on. Just one! THEN we can start the REAL party.� He beckons.
I have no interest in this or the �REAL� party. I decline and start walking through a pile of clothes and crap and garbage and leave the room. Fresh air. This was easy, in the movies they usually show gun fights and all this jazz, and here I just plainly walked out no questions asked. I eat a caramel apple and buy one for the road.

�Anything to declare? Any firearms? Any illegal substances? Any tobacco or alcohol products?� I shake my head. �Did you make any purchases during your stay here?� I nod and show him the caramel apple, �You people make the best ones.� The guard laughs, �See you in couple weeks then?� I shrug my shoulders. This is ridiculous, I come here so often that even the border guards know me.

I speed and eat my apple. You really do not know what happiness is if you are forced to resort to inducing it through chemical compounds (be it drugs or alcohol). Even as a person who is clinically depressed, I know this. If you can�t be happy just because you are alive, you will never be happy.

I�m screwed then.


And besides the fact that I never did and never will do any drugs, and besides the fact that I am completely disinterested in them, I have a sweet government job lined up for me� I will NOT allow myself to do anything that will fuck that up.

1:42 a.m. - September 28, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter