Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to get a job when you don't need one? Just Be Me.

I got a job. I think. Not sure. I had an interview, I'm pretty sure of that, okay, no, more like 75% sure.

When your boss tells you that the moment you notice signs of algea (or even dirt) in the chiller's reservoir, we should empty it out and flush it with filtered water, DO IT. DO not do what Stan and I did, which is... nothing... for a year. We let the mildew grow and grow and spread through the system, THE LASER system (we support... living things?). So year later, when the reservoir was a colony of life, instead of normally spending an hour to tending to chiller's needs, I am spending my second day, on my knees, taking the laser apart, the chiller, the tubing, and scrubbing mildew, cleaning with tens and tens of gallons of water, and jugs of bleach. And where is Stan?! In california, getting his tan on. Bitch, planned this shit. I KNOW IT!

So, I got a job. Because the moment I realized the chiller was green with life, I got a call about a job interview. A job interview?! But I didn't even apply! No, today is a bad day, I have to fix my car, I see, okay sure, I will make sure I'm free at that time. Fuck me! I tried as hard as I could, but I could not decipher from what agency she called. Them government and their crafty acronyms. And their craftier not even related pronunciations!

When time of the interview came (roughly three hours later), I had sketched out basic information I knew of the agency (or the agency I assume called me), I had my eduction/work history in front of me. I was shitting bricks. I begged the person did not have an accent.
�May I speak to [name]?� Heavily accented person asks. DAMN.
�Speaking, how are you?� I keep cursing.
�When can you start? When do you graduate?� He asks from start off. Well, okay?
�Well, I am hoping by next May. I work on this � �I start off my bragging, before getting cut off.
�I know, I read your papers. I have it ALL in front of me.� � well that's just great, what do I do now? �So let ME tell you what WE do.� I guess that works too.
So I nod, but he has no way of seeing it.
�So, how do you feel about DC?�
�I've been. I didn't mind it.� By the end of my stay I almost got used to the sewage smell.
�Downtown is real nice, but TOO expensive to live in. But there are � slums too.� Did he really just say that? Hmm, he did.
�I don't mind the commute from MD or VA.� That means I willing to relocate to better places. Think North. Think Boston.
THEN we bonded over English not being our first language, but according to him he won because his country is closer than mine. Then I said, I also speak HIS language. TO which with joy he was excited and we conversed in HIS native language. Geez, at least I got TWO cents in.
�So, IT WAS A PLEASURE SPEAKING TO YOU. I really REALLY hope you pick us.�

So... I think I got the job.

I told my boss about this. He said it's super exclusive (no wonder I've never heard of it), few qualify to work there, and even fewer get past the submitting the application. So I related the �interview� and according to him, it sounds like the guy REALLY really WANTED me to work there. So... I guess, we guess, I got it.

Does that mean... I got into the smarty pants people program? I am confused. My bf told me not to undersell/underestimate myself... but really, how did I get this far just by lollygagging (Ugh, this girl used it in a conversation with me, and I decided the next person who says it will sport a brand new black eye. You're welcome.)

I'm going to sleep. I'm still bitter about the chiller. Tomorrow is Day 3 of Operation Mildew Combat. Freaking mildew.

12:30 a.m. - March 18, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter