Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Act III - The Rest of Days

Day 2:
The Boss enters my quarters and disrupts my peace. �I called Bob last night.�
Oh fuck... �Oh hell.... why?� I groan.
�I told him everything.�
�No way! What did he say?�
�Well, he said congratulations but at the same time that Mike will be super uber pissed and he will most likely never speak to us again.�
�Ugh... okay. Well I guess that's not too bad, right?�

And as I was beginning to calm down, my Boss runs to me in panic not an hour later.
�HOLY CRAP!�
�WHAT THE HELL NOW?� I exclaim because I see my boss stressed, so I stress by association!
�I just spoke to MIKE!�
I start packing my belongings into my bag.
�What are you doing?�
�Oh, I'm going home and packing my bags. Leaving the country. Unless you're about to tell me that Mike is NOT pissed.�
�Oh he is livid! He is driving to The Organization... NOW.�
�Why the hell is he doing that ?!�
�To argue with Miguel over you!�
Oh sweet, we gonna have Mikey-boy prancing around the Pentagon and arguing about the token girl-me. Sweet sweet. H-O-W T-H-E F-U-C-K E-M-B-A-R-R-A-S-S-I-N-G!
I throw my messenger bag over my shoulder. �Since I am about to be killed, I� well.. it was great working for you.�
�But seriously, he wants Miguel's number so he could find his office.�
So... I rush home to fetch my boss the number.
As I am leaving, my Boss screams behind me: �By the way, Bob called Mike right after I finished talking to him yesterday, and basically threw you under the bus saying YOU actually called up the fellowship committee and requested NOT to be assigned with Mike and decided to go with Miguel just to piss Mike off!�
Oh great! �Oh that's just � fucking great.�

So I rush home to email my Boss Miguel's number. Then I head back to work. I step into the Boss' office.
�So, any news? I'm checking CNN.com for any news of someone beating the shit out of someone else working at the Polygon.�
�It's the PENTA-gon,� the Boss shakes his head. �Get with the program, you foreigner.�
�Still a POLYgon.� I scoff. �So now what?�
�Now we wait. He was supposed to call me back an hour ago to let me know if he won you from Miguel. But now I'm starting to think he got arrested for starting a fight.�
�Well... this is great.�
�Think about it this way.... you got people in DoD fighting over you. Some great accomplishment.�
�NO! This means my rating is increasing exponentially, but once I actually get to the Organization and Miguel meets me in person, he'll be like 'waaaaa?! We fought over THIS?!' yea, they shall say 'this', that's how lowly I am.�
And I just sat in his office until I got butt sores and left home. And waited for any news at home.

Days passed without any news. And then I flew off to Orlando for a conference that Mike screwed me into going. He was to give a talk but then remembered it's during Easter so decided I should actually give the talk. And I said no, but my 'no' doesn't really count, so it translated as �HOLY CRAP! OF COURSE, I want to give a talk in front of hundreds of scientists who know more about this shit than I do!� Of course, I do.

10:15 p.m. - May 05, 2011

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter