Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It Was a Freak Accident Only Because I Survived

So now I will tell you about about the freak accident.

On Tuesday my father went back to my country (only for a month but still great), so my mom called me for help in translating stuff. It was arranged that she'd pick me up after my class. At 12pm we were off cruising through the highway in her van. I was listening to my iPod... which all of the sudden for no apparent reason fell behind her seat. So I leaned back to reach for it and that's when the truck smashed into our van. Before our van crashed into the highway divider (or whatever it is called), it skidded spinning blocking the whole traffic. Eventually, the van stopped. My mom started freaking out and I was just in shock. Someone pulled over behind us to check what's going on; the guy came up to the passenger side (my side) and when he saw me he exclaimed: "OMG! You're ALIVE!" At first I didn't understand what he meant by this; it took me a while to grasp what just happened, then I started checking out the damages. See, the passenger side was no longer existing, there was only half of the van, and my half was gone (well, not really gone, it was just squeezed tightly together). It was then when I started panicking, I was stuck between my mom's seat and the remains of my seat which by the force of impact was pushed into my mom's seat. I was covered by shattered glass and pieces of the car... and shit, I couldn't get out. We had police come and literally cut me out of the place. Now, this is the weirdest part: I am alive and with exception of tons of cuts and bruises, I am fine.

Now, the whole time, I was stuck between those two seats, my mom was panicking and crying and screaming--all at the same time. But no, she wasn't acting this way because I almost died there, she was just concerned about the state of the car. The cop was extremely surprised and said the following: "Ma'am! Your daughter miraculously survived this accident!" and my mom: "But she's alive and my car... is gone!" he just shook his head and proceeded to talk to me as if I was some miraculous survivor suffering from some extreme trauma. He kept telling me everything was going to be all right; but it was strange since I was calm, I was just shaking like crazy.

After the cops and fire truck came, the tow truck arrived. The guy scratched his head when talking to my mom (I was the translator) and said: "Oh man, is the passenger alive?" At this time, I was standing in front of him (still trembling) and got annoyed but I just mumbled the fact that the passenger is standing right in front of him and translating. "Oh Shit, how the hell did you survive this?" Uhm, at this point I started believing this crash wasn't an accident but a part of a plan to kill me. The tow truck disappeared with the smashed piece of polymer/metal alloy, and that's when the ambulance came. Wow! Just in time! Half an hour later! Wow! Pennsylvania sure does take care of their residents! They took me to the hospital, and on the way they marvelled on my survival without any major injuries. They should stop already! I am alive, let's be happy because of that and not marvel upon the mystery of why I am not dead! So they scanned my head... again, gave me stiches on my legs and arms and face. Oh yea, my mom was strangely fine.

You see, this kind of life-death experience should teach me something; this "life is fragile, cherish it" type of crap. However, for some reason, I do not feel anything. Sure, according to others, I should be dead, but the whole thing just made me disappointed... I mean, no broken bones, wtf?! All I got was lame stiches and bruises... which I could easy have gotten from talking to my father or such... Totally lame. At the same time, when I was stuck between two seats and smashed pieces of the car, the thought that was running through my head was: "Oh shit, that would totally suck if I died not knowing what I got on the exam I took hours before." Sick, eh? Weirdly, however, I do believe it was God's doing that my iPod fell and I was... saved that way, because if I was still sitting there on that seat, cops would have tough time separating my body from the smashed van.

My mom still complains about the car, totally forgetting the fact I almost died there. The fact that the truck-driver's insurance is paying for a new car of our choice and for a temporary rental car, doesn't calm her down. Strange.

Since yesterday, each time I fall asleep, or take a nap, I dream. In my dreams I relive the accident but I die there. I start coming out of my body and float around. And while I float examining the scene, I think "Oh shit, so I did die! and I never got to know what I got on the exam..."

Moral of the story: don't drive next to trucks, they're out to get you!

11:20 p.m. - May 25, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter