Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because This Is Supposedly the Best Essay Ever

I just found an essay that I wrote in my junior year of high school. We had no specific topic so I wrote about a dead dog. It was just two paragraphs with five lines in each. I got an A+ and the teacher requested a copy of it saying he's never read such a great essay. Couple years later, in my Freshman writing class in college, I wrote a similar essay about the same dead dog. I expanded it to three paragraphs and 13 lines in total. Again, I got an A+ and the professor requested a copy of it. Now, that I reread it... it doesn't sound like it's the best essay ever. At least, not the best I ever wrote. But hey! I decided to show you a copy of it; keep in mind, however, that this isn't the final copy so the grammar blows (my final copy, which I don't have anymore, was perfect).

A TALE ABOUT NO TAIL

"Nosy person that I am, I knew by heart everything my house closets and drawers contained. One time, repeating my routine of checking the drawers, just in case something new had wandered in, I noticed a book with no cover and no title page. It was in an advanced stage of falling apart. I picked it up, sat on my porch and, petting my beloved dog, began to read.

It was a sad story told by a mailman�s dog. He was old and missing a tail. He explained that he had lost his tail when one very bad child shut a door on it. After that, the mailman decided it was the end of the dog�s services and replaced him with a puppy. From that time on, the dog lived under the porch and rarely had anything to eat. The mailman forgot about him, though the neighboring dogs didn�t. Every day they teased him about his missing tail, until one hot day, the dog said he was so tired he couldn�t chase off the fly that sat comfortably on his nose. Then, he fell asleep.

I closed the book, with tears in my eyes, and leaned over to hug my dog."

So... I don't really know how this is the best essay ever written... or how two/three paragraphs are even considered an essay... but hey, I'm not a writer so... whatever.

1:34 a.m. - May 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter