Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because I Threatened To Expose Him

While in Boston, I decided to walk around my old campus and my old school. I walked past one of the dorms and there he was, the homeless guy. A paragraph about him, if you please:

That man, has been there since, if not earlier, I went to that school. I transferred, but he apparently stayed there. Students being poor, usually just gave him food and would sit next to him and engaging in some interesting conversation. Rumor was, he knew the meaning to life. My friends dared me to join the man in his quest for free money... or just to talk to him. So I sat next to the man.

We were silent for couple minutes, and then I started the conversation.
Me: I'm on a quest to find the meaning of life and the word on the street is that you can help me with that.
Him: It's simple. Making others happy.
Me: Hmmm. [silence] I can expose you.
Him: Would that make you happy?
Me: Not necessarily. But you do have a decent job and a home, why do you still sit here and beg for money?
Him: Making people happy. Money brings unhappiness, and by taking the money away from the students, I make them happy.
Me: I don't have any money.
Him: Are you sad?
Me: Not really.
Him: See, it works.
[Silence]
Me: Two years ago, you were sitting on the other side of the street.
Him: I remember you. You would walk by me everyday for two years. Haven't got a penny from you.
Me: True. Once I saw you changing a cd on your Mp3/CD player. At that time, my cd player broke.
Him: Music brings happiness.
Me: I wanted to grab your CD/Mp3 player and smash it on the ground. Maybe even step on it couple times.
Him: Would that make you happy?
Me: I doubt it. But I did go to Best Buy that day and bought myself a new cd player. That made me happy.
[Silence. I take out a sandwich MSS made for me.]
Me: Here you go, a turkey sandwich. I'm a vegeterian but MSS made it for me and I'd hate to see it go to waste. He's a good cook.
Him: See, it works. You'd be unhappy eating turkey while being a vegeterian, so by giving it away, in a sense I made you happy.
Me: I think everyone knows that you're actually employed and not homeless. The new sneakers are a giveaway. I must go, now.

I lied. I'm not on a quest to finding the meaning in life. I just wanted to see how he'd respond to my wanting to expose him. Also, I do enjoy talking to strangers. Yea, my parents skipped the lesson "Do not talk to strangers."

2:36 a.m. - April 17, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter