Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because Just Like Schr�dinger, I Do Not Like Cats

"I don't know how you do it, but I have never seen you study, even crack the book open, and yet you know these things that no one in this school had the chance to teach you.

"It's scary how you know the answers to questions and problems that are taught in graduate schools. [...] And how you can solve a two-hour problem in half the time.

"All I can hope for that you will not become one of those lazy geniuses that waste their minds and don't do anything with their knowledge. Hopefully, you won't use your knowledge against the humanity."
-- Very accurate quote by my professor.

This happened after I entered my physical chemistry 2 class "ready" to take an exam. Supposedly this was to be the hardest exam we would have ever taken. Everybody else was already in the room sweating over the impossible problems.
"Ready?" he asked.
"Nah. I came here to wing it." I said.
Roughly 45 minutes later, I was the first one to leave (even though the other four people had a 20 minute head start).
Hour later I received a call from the professor if I am available I should see his office. I was.
"Graded your exam." he said.
"Aha..." I muttered out; prediction: I failed. Failing me would be the right thing since I did not even study.
"Was hard will that tiny handwriting of yours."
"Yea, about that... so I tried writing bigger and stuff... I mean, you shouldn't take off points for that, Dr. ****." I started.
"You know, what I can't read is automatically wrong..." He trailed off.
"You know this won't fly with me, right?" I started panicking and threatening my professor.
"What I can't get out of my head though, is how you got a 100 on it." He gave me back my exam book.
I didn't know how to respond. I didn't study. All the equations I used were random equations that my brain was spitting out. And I turned red as if caught doing something illegal or embarassing.
"Did you cheat?" He asked. "I mean, go ahead tell me, I will still give you the 100, because whoa, you fooled me. I was observing you the whole exam."
I didn't cheat. To prove it to him, he gave me a random question, he randomly pulled out of his ass, and I randomly solved it. It was a random question on a random subject from quantum mechanics, and although all we're learning in p-chem 2 is QM, we didn't learn about this stuff yet.
He was surprised and asked me how I knew this stuff.
"I think I saw it somewhere. Maybe the textbook." I said.
"No, you couldn't have. It's not in the textbook."
"Well maybe online." I found another excuse, because I myself didn't know how I knew this.
"You just randomly read quantum mechanics principles online? Like a hobby?" He questioned. I needed to save my ass from this uncomfortable and embarassing question (reading quantum mechanics in your free time is regarded as the strangest and weirdest activity ever... even between physical chemists).
"Maybe it was the time, I think, when I was reading on polar bears. There was a random link about cats, I clicked on it. Then another link to Schr�dinger's Cat in the box problem. And some more links. I guess somewhere then." This was embarassing.
He found it funny and asked for his Radiohead cd back.

That professor wrote me the best recommendation I ever received. We exchange mp3s and movies a lot. I keep my enemies and friends close, but my professors closer--I will need them in the future when I will be applying to all those graduate schools and stuff.

MIT, here I f***ing come!... in late 2008... but I AM!

!!!!UPDATE!!!! The fact that my professor was surprised by my 100 is not due to my poor grades or such (I am a straight-A student) but to my lack of studying and still receiving an impossible grade on an impossible exam. He is surprised because my behavior, my constant conspiracy theories talks (mostly relating to Disney trying to take over the world) and other do not reflect what I actually know.

4:50 p.m. - March 21, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter