Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because This Entry Will Anger You, You Hardcore Patriots

Let me vent please.

I like this country. Oh it is a fabulous country. Supposed freedom of speech, sure, lovely idea. Freedom of expression; another, lovely idea. Oh and that Oh so expensive freedom; Fantastic!

No, if I had anything against about this country, I would run like hell back to my own country.

But I do hate the fact that all the music I like is in 90% European. My playlist consists mostly of Scottish, Swedish, Danish, German, Norwegian, Finnish, Icelandic, and British bands. Now, if they're not of the Beatles fame, chances of me getting their cd (without sickenly high import prices) are very slim. Shit, me wanting to see them live on this great land of America are even less than slim.

I would love to have the front row seats/stands in Rammstein's concert. That's on my list "Things to Experience Before I Die." It's number one. But think about this: when was the last time Rammstein actually toured in here? Early 90s? Hell, I will make sure that this summer when I'm in Germany, I will track Rammstein down and I WILL see them live.

And Union of Knives. Has anyone in America even heard of that Scottish band? Anyone?! Nope. What about Mew? Denmark's number one band. Anyone? So, I guess if I want to see them, I need to go to Scotland and to Denmark. Lame.

Ah, and another problem: Hip-Hop/Rap/R&B. Ok, I can't say I completely dislike these genres but once you've heard all you could possibly hear in those genres, you just want to perform a lobotomy on yourself. Whatever radio statio or tv channel I turn on, it's as if Rock, Techno, and other quite enjoyable genres have disappeared!

Also, all the radio stations and TV completely kill every single song they play. How many times can I listen to Snow Patrol's "Chasing Cars" in one hour? Apparently, three times in one hour every hour is not enough. Three months later, twice in one hour every hour, is just fine. Five years later, maybe I will hear this song at least once in a day. I leave USA for at least two months every year, and when I come back, all the songs from the Top Songs lists are still on the same places, and are still played at the same rate. In Europe, that wouldn't fly. Oh no. Not acceptable. There must be new stuff. Fresh stuff. Better. Much better than the previous one. Yea.

Ah, and foreign movies. Oh dear, it took me maybe weeks to find a small movie rental shop in a shady area that would have a beaten up copy of Denmark's Festen.

People, it's like being in a communist country: all I have to listen to and watch is American-made. No offense, some stuff is great, but... I need FOREIGN! FOREIGN music, FOREIGN movies, FOREIGN books... and where am I gonna get this from?

The INTERNET saves me more than it should have.

But bypassing that one flaw, this country is great; so if you're about to utter the words "then why don't you go back to your own country if this one blows so much?" I will have to refuse.

Venting over.

1:23 a.m. - December 17, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter