Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because We Are Pathetic

A while ago I saw a trailer for a movie with a plot that was strangely familiar to me. I even uttered the title of the movie it reminded me of. The Hitcher (1986). Then... the unspeakable happened: I realized what I was watching was a trailer for a REMAKE of original. What the hell?!

Ok, you might not understand my rage and more than strong dislike towards remakes, but one thing you have to know is the fact that I live for movies. It's pretty safe to say that if there was no movies, the chances of me living would be slim. And that may happen soon since all I recently see in the movie theaters are just lame ass remakes. Why fix something that's not broken? I thought the original movies were more than decent. Updating special effects, hiring hotter and younger actors, adding totally fantastic and contemporary soundtrack will NOT make the movie better. Hell, it might even ruin it.

Do you think that the reason why Nightmare On Elm Street scares the living shit out of me is because the special effects and the make up are so unbelievably realistic? Shit, even if I was just three years old, I'd know the movie was fake. But something about this old technology makes it scarier to me, because real life doesn't have special effects (at least mine doesn't)... there's no suspense... and you can totally see the strings whenever there are strings attached.

As a movie critic (one of my many jobs), I get to see many movie premieres and movie test screenings. And seeing the list of movies that will come out in this glorious year 2007, I can safely say that I am not interested. No good scary movies. No original plots. No good anything. It seems to me that Hollywood is losing all the originality it had left. We need more Stanley Kubricks, Tim Burtons, David Lynches, Lars Von Triers, Ingmar Bergmans...or even more Ed Woods. I can safely say that although Ed Woods was one of the worst directors, he knew it but still made movies because he loved to make them. And lately it seems to me that instead of making crappy movie but making it with passion, directors just make remakes because... you know the original was well liked, so there's no chance the movie will fail at the box office. The movie-making became not a product of passion, but a quick way to earn money.

How lame.

I am so sad and ashamed for my generation; we will go down in history as the generation who grew up with Reality TV and remakes flooding our screens.

So pathetic.

11:53 p.m. - January 03, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter