Because It's Better To Be Irrational With Me Than Rational With Someone Else

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because I Already Think Very Low of Us Human Beings

Ok, this is not what I was originally going to write about but I am sitting in the computer lounge at school and... I am evesdropping on the strangest conversation ever. I mean, yes, I heard stranger convos but this one just strikes me as strange especially since I live in USA and since we are living in the year 2007.

Arranged marriage. That's the topic.

It started with a girlie chitty chat of one girl asking the other about her last week's date. The girl said she's done with relationships and guys (in the sense of her finding herself a man) and the arranged marriage was the best thing that ever happened to her. [Clarification: she's not binded by arranged marriage yet, but that's how the parents want to be... and I guess, they're looking for a future husband now].

The girl defends the arranged marriage by saying that if you find a guy for yourself, he loves you and you love him, then you believe you're ready for marriage but all of the sudden the guy changes his mind for whatever weird guy reason he has. In an arranged marriage, the parents are happy because they picked the guy, the guy obviously goes with it... because he has no choice, and chances of changing his mind? Slim to none. Now, if I was narrow-minded and did not think for myself, I would assume her reasoning to be quite... logical. But I am an ultra independent autonomous person, so if I would die before I married a guy who was not "hand-picked" by me and only me.

I do not understand how in this day and age, and this country people still think they need to obey the cultural rules they have in their native countries. I mean sure, it serves as a protective blanket to those, who aren't comfortable with their new surroundings. Sure, that's all they know and it's hard to change your ideas and logic... and culture.

But by God, you should at least try... Those people who do not try to become their own people, not influenced solely by their culture, are the people who are the cause of the society's downside. I would assume that the more advanced we become, the more understanding we have about ourselves and the more open-minded we are to new things (or not neccessarily new, but taboo ideas: homosexuality, inter-racial relationsips, trans-sexualism).

Hell, homosexuality is frowned upon by majority of people. And try to mention homosexual marriage! I understand it's against someone's religion (as it is in mine), but how can you as a person deny that right to another person? I believe it was somewhere in the New Testament where it is mentioned that you should treat your neighbor as you'd like to be treated (same as The Golden Rule) and leave the judging to God. So why do we feel so inclined on judging homosexuality? Heck, it might be wrong in eyes of God, but I am not God (and if I am... than, whoa, comes as a surprise to me), so I do not feel that it is right for me to judge them. I also do not feel it is right for us to deny two loving people the right to marry, when at the same time we allow two people who utterly hate each other but are straight. What about murderer's? Pedophiles? Convicts? Many of them were married. So what makes them be worthy of the ability to marry, comparing to a peace-loving, environment-concious homosexual? (I am not assuming that all homosexuals are peace loving and environment concious; my good friend is gay and he hates everything and everybody, and he'd die before he ever recycled).

But how did I get onto this subject? Arranged marriage. Aha. So while I do not understand why anybody would go through with it, I will not think of that person any less than I already do of everybody else in the world.

2:31 p.m. - February 23, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry

----------
other diaries:

alienamiss
silver4
perplexing
nononename
opposure
cocoabean
star-brite
achmardi
outer-jessie
non-descript
jenniesblog

----------
recent entries:

Test - April 28, 2017
My PhD Made Me Obsolete In Human Language - February 18, 2012
... I revisited the bathroom after I regained the ability to move, and I realized that anything that could've been broken, was; anything that could've been thrown in disarray, was. But my brain could not recollect how I have managed to do such - January 30, 2012
I Might Have Had a Slight Lapse in Judgement - January 29, 2012
A moment for reflection: - January 01, 2012
Site Meter